Emailing Entrepreneurs and Designers

If I had to pick between running the Iditarod, becoming a matador, or networking, I’d choose one of first two options. NO CONTEST.

Yea…its cold in Alaska, but think about all the cute dogs!

Networking is vapid and doesn’t feel natural…but if I never networked, I’d be obsessing over the fact that my goals aren’t finite and I don’t have concrete plans to get my fashion aspirations off the ground. So I awkwardly present myself to new people because I have a nagging sense that I’m not the only one who thinks this way.

 Over the past few months, I’ve been firing off emails at people from a few walks of life: a founder of a tall women’s clothing company, an entrepreneur in New York who created a clothing line for men 5′ 8″ and under, and a chief designer at an architecture firm (this third recipient isn’t as random as it seems).

The clothing company for men 5′ 8″ and under. I thought this would be a great person to contact because its so niche!

To be frank, I’ve gotten a ton of advice that I don’t know what to do with at the moment. The men’s clothing designer was a tad bit helpful. He encouraged me to find a seamstress or fabricator who could help me find the appropriate grade and fabric for what I want to create. Beyond that, I’ve been largely given advice about experimentation and determination.

I’m shocked that these people are taking time out of their lives to help me. So here’s to pushing forward with this and getting some help. My past few posts have focused a bit on embedding the blog in a vale, one that presents itself as a basis of opportunity and path towards a upward climb to actualizing those goals. This endeavor could go absolutely anywhere. Back to emailing more people…

Leave a Reply

