On the hunt for a long, fit and flare sweater dress

The other day, I day dreamed about finding a professional-looking sweater dress that could hit above my knee (at least 40″ from shoulder to hem), yet not make me look like a burlap sack, matronly, or as if I was headed to bed. I kept finding midi sweater dresses on the internet that were less than desirable:

Screen shot 2015-03-04 at 8.04.26 PM

ASOS Midi Dress In Knit, $70. The model is 5’8.5″, no length dimensions given.

Moving from my thoughts to my sketchpad, I came up with something that wasn’t revolutionary. Just a simple, belted sweater dress with a stretchy enough fabric to make the bodice form-fitting while the skirt flowed freely.

Screen shot 2015-03-04 at 8.06.52 PM

 

After a few Google searches I was able to find a few things like this on the ASOS website, but all of those options were out of stock. Bummer. The closest thing I could find was a JcPenny dress measuring 37″ from shoulder to hem. That simply isn’t long enough considering the dress may shrink and the quality isn’t guaranteed. Oh well. Still on the hunt for the perfect, fashionable sweater dress.

If you have a go-to sweater dress that covers your limbs and emphasizes your figure, please let me know.

🙂

 

Leave a Reply

